t: 01463 761301 | 07738 076711

Trail of the Seven Lochs

Walk the Trail of the Seven Lochs

The Trail of the Seven Lochs is a 50-mile circular walking route in the South Loch Ness area. Although the route doesn’t have a designated starting point, you can start in Inverness. It takes two to three days to complete the whole circuit on foot, which offers some of the most stunning views you will come across around Loch Ness.  This is also a popular route for horse riding. The trail is waymarked – look for the T7L signs. However, it is advised that you keep a compass with you, as the route can become difficult to navigate in bad weather.

Stunning views of the Scottish Highlands

The route

The seven lochs in question are: Loch Ness, Loch Ashie, Loch Duntelchaig, Loch Ruthven, Loch a’ Choire, Loch Ceo Glais and Loch Mhor. The circuit wraps around the edges of these lochs, giving magnificent views of the waters and surrounding landscapes. This is a long-distance route for experienced walkers, with varied terrain and overnight stops. View the map here. You can also follow this walk report for more detailed directions. As this route takes more than a day, it’s important to plan your overnight stops in advance. The circuit passes through villages such as Dores and Inverfarigaig, where you may be able to arrange accommodation.

This trail was created by the South Loch Ness Access Group and you will find more information about it on their website.

Back to Eagle Brae

So what’s next?

After a few days on this glorious long-distance trail, you’ll be ready for some rest and relaxation! The perfect excuse to check into Eagle Brae luxury log cabin resort. Situated 20 miles outside of Inverness, on a remote Highland hilltop. There are plenty of local walks to enjoy during your stay, along with outdoor activities. Or, you can simply switch off and unwind in your cabin, surrounded by nature and wildlife. Find out more about our log cabins and view our gallery here.

Book online